Botswana captivates with a unique mix of impressively untouched nature and dreamlike landscapes. For safari enthusiasts and nature lovers, Botswana is the perfect country to be.

The name Botswana derives from the people of the Tswana, which forms the majority of the population in the country of Botswana. Botswana is often referred to as the patterned country of Africa, since its independence in 1966 has a democratic basic order and a government legitimized by regularly held elections. This stability makes Botswana a very popular holiday destination in southern Africa.

The country between Namibia, Zambia, Zimbabwe and South Africa is marked by two fascinating contrasts. On the one hand, Botswana is 80% from the Kalahari Desert and the approximately 15,000 km² of the Okavango Basin offers hundreds of species of animals, a lot of forest and numerous small waterways that merge into lagoons. Especially during the rainy season a unique animal and plant world can be admired here on trips and safaris.

Country Info

 
 

Visitors from Germany, Austria and Switzerland do not require a visa for stays of up to 90 days. A toll-free entry stamp (visitors entry Permit) will be issued on arrival at all official border crossing points. A valid passport is sufficient (six months validity beyond the end of the travel – at least two blank pages for stamps must be free!). A yellow Fever vaccination certificate is required on entry from a yellow Fever infection area (central and East Africa). Occasionally, you will be asked for sufficient funds or a return ticket. Normally, the official will provide a residence permit for up to 30 days on entry. If you stay in the country for a long time, the visitor visa has to be extended in its immigration office (in Gabaron, Maun, Francistown etc.) The entry and exit processing of tourists is usually very accommodating, controls are rare.

children under the age of 18 must be able to have a birth certificate in addition to the passport, in which the parents are listed. In order to avoid difficulties in entering and exiting, it is therefore recommended to carry international birth certificates or certified English translations if necessary.

Botswana is not currently being served directly from Europe! The national airline Air Botswana is also flying destinations in Africa only. There is usually a stopover in Johannesburg, Harare or Windhoek.

Flights to Johannesburg, Harare or Windhoek are easy and often also relatively inexpensive to get. It is advisable to book a further trip to Botswana from Germany. Information about this can be obtained from any travel agency or you can book directly with air Botswana on the Internet, which regularly offers cheap flights.

The climate of Botswana is subtropical, dry and hot. The seasons are opposed to those of Europe, as the country is in the southern hemisphere. So from September to April summer and at the same time rainy season and the time from May to the end of August is considered winter and dry season.

All travellers must be in good health, because in remote areas medical assistance is often difficult to obtain. There is currently no compulsory vaccination for a trip to Botswana. Effective vaccinations are currently protection against tetanus, diphtheria, polio, typhoid and hepatitis. For Hepatitis A and B there is a double vaccination, which provides protection against both diseases for up to 10 years. Schistosomiasis pathogens occur mainly in inland waters where swimming and wading should be avoided. In some places in the Okavango Delta, bathing is harmless. Your tour guide will inform you about safe bathing places. Well maintained swimming pools with chlorinated water are also harmless.

Botswana is a mostly safe and pleasant to travel country. Violent crimes against tourists are almost unknown. The Foreign Office does not currently have a country-specific security notice for Botswana.

Street crime is essentially limited to pocket theft and credit card robbery in major cities. In particular, crime has increased in Maun, the entrance to the Okavango Delta.

Safaris in Botswana

Hippos in the Caprivi

three countries-four rivers-camping and lodge safari-18 days

This guided camping and lodge safari leads in the green, water-rich Caprivi (Zambezi region) of Namibia with the rivers Okavango, Kwando, Zambezi and its numerous national parks, to the Chobe National Park in Botswana, the gigantic Victoria waterfalls in Zimbabwe and the fascinating Okavango Delta in Botswana
18 days from/to Windhoek
Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe
Lion in Chobe National Park-Botswana

three countries-four rivers-Camping safari-18 days

This guided camping safari takes you into the green, water rich Caprivi (Zambezi region) of Namibia with the rivers Okavango, Kwando, Zambezi and its numerous national parks, to the Chobe National Park in Botswana, the gigantic Victoria Waterfalls in Zimbabwe and to the fascinating Okavango Delta in Botswana
18 days from/to Windhoek
Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe
Tented camp on Kavango-Namibia

three countries-four rivers-Lodge safari-18 days

This guided Lodge Safari takes you to the green, water-rich Zambezi region-Caprivi of Namibia with the rivers Okavango, Kwando, Zambezi and its numerous national parks, the Chobe National Park in Botswana, the gigantic Victoria waterfalls in Zimbabwe and the Fascinating Okavango Delta in Botswana
18 days from/to Windhoek
Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe
Elephants in the Bwabwata National Park Namibia

Caprivi to Vicfalls-Camping safari-18 days

This guided camping safari takes you to the green, water-rich Sambesiregion-formerly Caprivi Strip-Namibia with its numerous national parks, to the animal-rich Chobe National Park in Botswana and to the fascinating, imposing Victoria waterfalls in Zimbabwe.
18 days from/to Windhoek
Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe

Botswana besticht mit einem einzigartigen Mix aus beeindruckend unberührter Natur und traumhaften Landschaften. Für Safari-Liebhaber und Naturbegeisterte ist Botswana das perfekte Reiseland.

Der Name Botswana leitet sich von dem Volk der Tswana ab, das im Land Botswana die Bevölkerungsmehrheit bildet. Botswana wird oft als Musterland Afrikas bezeichnet, da es seit seiner Unabhängigkeit 1966 über eine freiheitlich-demokratische Grundordnung und eine durch regelmäßig abgehaltene Wahlen legitimierte Regierung verfügt. Diese Stabilität macht Botswana zu einem sehr beliebten Urlaubsziel im südlichen Afrika.

Das Land zwischen Namibia, Sambia, Simbabwe und Südafrika ist geprägt von zwei faszinierenden Gegensätzen. Einerseits besteht Botswana zu 80 % aus der Kalahari-Wüste zum anderen bietet das rund 15.000 km² große Okavango-Becken hunderte von Tierarten, viel Wald und unzählige kleine Wasserwege, die sich zu Lagunen zusammenschließen. Gerade während der Regenzeit kann hier auf Reisen und Safaris eine einzigartige Tier- und Pflanzenwelt bestaunt werden

Länderinfos

 
 

Besucher aus Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz benötigen bei einem Aufenthalt von bis zu 90 Tagen kein Visum. Ein gebührenfreier Einreisestempel (Visitors Entry Permit) wird bei Ankunft an allen offiziellen Grenzübergängen erteilt. Ein gültiger Reisepass genügt (sechs Monate Gültigkeit über das Reiseende hinaus – mindestens zwei leere Seiten für Stempel müssen frei sein!). Bei Einreise aus einem Gelbfieber- Infektionsgebiet (Zentral- und Ostafrika) wird ein Gelbfieber-Impfausweis verlangt. Gelegentlich wird bei der Einreise nach ausreichenden Geldmitteln gefragt, bzw. ein Rückflugticket verlangt. Normalerweise stellt der Beamte bei der Einreise eine Aufenthaltsgenehmigung bis zu 30 Tagen aus. Wer längere Zeit im Lande bleibt, muss sich das Besuchervisum in seinen Immigration Office verlängern lassen (in Gabaron, Maun, Francistown etc.) Die Ein- und Ausreiseabwicklung von Touristen erfolgt in der Regel sehr zuvorkommend, Kontrollen sind selten.

Kinder unter 18 Jahren müssen neben dem Reisepass eine Geburtsurkunde vorweisen können, in der die Eltern aufgeführt sind. Um Schwierigkeiten bei der Ein- und Ausreise zu vermeiden, wird daher bis auf Weiteres empfohlen, international Geburtsurkunden bzw. gegebenenfalls beglaubigte englische Übersetzungen mitzuführen.

Botswana wird bis heute nicht direkt aus Europa angeflogen! Auch die nationale Fluggesellschaft Air Botswana fliegt ausschließlich Ziele in Afrika an. In der Regel gibt es einen Zwischenstopp in Johannesburg, Harare oder Windhoek.

Flüge nach Johannesburg, Harare oder Windhoek sind einfach und häufig auch relativ günstig zu bekommen. Es empfiehlt sich die Weiterreise nach Botswana bereits von Deutschland aus zu buchen. Infos dazu bekommen Sie in jedem Reisebüro oder Sie buchen direkt bei der Fluggesellschaft Air Botswana im Internet, die regelmäßig günstige Flüge anbietet.

Das Klima Botswanas ist subtropisch, trocken und heiß. Die Jahreszeiten sind denen Europas entgegengesetzt, da sich das Land auf der Südhalbkugel befindet. So ist von September bis April Sommer und gleichzeitig Regenzeit und die Zeit von Mai bis Ende August gilt als Winter und Trockenzeit.

Alle Reisenden müssen in gutem Gesundheitszustand sein, denn in abgelegenen Gegenden ist medizinische Hilfe oft schwierig zu erhalten. Für eine Botswana Reise besteht zurzeit keine Pflichtimpfung. Sinnvolle Schutzimpfungen sind derzeit der Schutz gegen Tetanus, Diphtherie, Polio, Typhus und Hepatitis. Für Hepatitis A und B gibt es eine Doppelschutzimpfung, die einen Schutz gegen beide Krankheiten bis zu 10 Jahren gewährt. Bilharziose-Erreger kommen vor allem in Binnengewässern vor, wo Schwimmen und Waten vermieden werden sollte. An einigen Stellen im Okavango-Delta ist Baden unbedenklich. Ihr Reiseleiter informiert Sie über sichere Badestellen. Gut gepflegte Schwimmbecken mit gechlortem Wasser sind ebenfalls unbedenklich.

Botswana ist ein größtenteils sicheres und angenehm zu bereisendes Reiseland. Gewaltdelikte gegen Touristen sind so gut wie unbekannt. Seitens des Auswärtigen Amtes besteht für Botswana derzeit kein landesspezifischer Sicherheitshinweis.

Die Straßenkriminalität beschränkt sich im Wesentlichen auf Taschendiebstahl und Kreditkartenraub in den Großstädten. In besonderem Maße hat die Kriminalität in Maun, dem Eingang zum Okavango-Delta, zugenommen.

Safaris in Botswana

Hippos im Caprivi

drei Länder - vier Flüsse - Camping und Lodge Safari - 18 Tage

Diese geführte Camping und Lodge - Safari führt in den grünen, wasserreichen Caprivi (Sambesi Region) Namibias mit den Flüssen Okavango, Kwando, Sambesi und seinen zahlreichen Nationalparks, zum Chobe Nationalpark in Botswana, den gigantischen Victoria Wasserfällen in Zimbabwe und an das faszinierende Okavango Delta in Botswana
18 Tage ab/bis Windhoek
Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe
Löwe im Chobe Nationalpark - Botswana

drei Länder - vier Flüsse - Camping Safari - 18 Tage

Diese geführte Lodge - Safari führt in den grünen, wasserreichen Caprivi (Sambesi Region) Namibias mit den Flüssen Okavango, Kwando, Sambesi und seinen zahlreichen Nationalparks, zum Chobe Nationalpark in Botswana, den gigantischen Victoria Wasserfällen in Zimbabwe und an das faszinierende Okavango Delta in Botswana
18 Tage ab/bis Windhoek
Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe
Tented Camp am Kavango - Namibia

drei Länder -vier Flüsse - Lodge Safari - 18 Tage

Diese geführte Lodge - Safari führt in die grüne, wasserreiche Sambesi Region - Caprivi Namibias mit den Flüssen Okavango, Kwando, Sambesi und seinen zahlreichen Nationalparks, zum Chobe Nationalpark in Botswana,  den gigantischen Victoria Wasserfällen in Zimbabwe und an das faszinierende Okavango Delta in Botswana
18 Tage ab/bis Windhoek
Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe
Elefanten im Bwabwata National Park Namibia

Caprivi to Vicfalls - Camping Safari - 18 Tage

Diese geführte Camping Safari führt in die grüne, wasserreiche Sambesiregion -  ehemals Caprivizipfel - Namibias mit seinen zahlreichen Nationalparks, zum tierreichen Chobe Nationalpark in Botswana und zu den faszinierenden, imposanten Victoria Wasserfällen in Zimbabwe.
18 Tage ab/bis Windhoek
Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe